Dispose of LED

Disposing of an LED correctly

LED lights do not contain any toxic substances or even mercury, like the energy-saving lamp. So if the LED luminaire should suffer damage, no harmful substances are released. The semiconductor materials are all present in solid form in the LED chip. In addition, only a few micro- and nanograms of metals are used in the chips. In the household and therefore also in the children's room LED lamps can be used without hesitation.

Although the LED is not harmful in the home, it should not simply be thrown in the household garbage.

This is due to the electronic components that the LED luminaire contains and for which there are legal regulations for disposal. According to the Electrical and Electronic Equipment Act (ElektroG), they are classified as waste electrical equipment and must be disposed of properly. When recycling the LED, valuable parts such as metal and glass can also be reused.

You can easily dispose of small quantities at small quantity collection points such as recycling centres or most electrical shops. For large quantities, please contact your waste management company for a collection or container solution.

LED entsorgen

Eine LED richtig entsorgen

LED Leuchten enthalten keine giftigen Stoffe oder gar Quecksilber, wie die Energiesparlampe. Wenn die LED Leuchte also einen Schaden davon tragen sollte, werden keine Schadstoffe freigesetzt. Die Halbleitermaterialien liegen alle in fester Form im LED Chip vor. Zusätzlich werden nur wenige Micro- und Nanogramm der Metalle in den Chips verbaut. Im Haushalt und somit auch im Kinderzimmer können LED Lampen also bedenkenlos verwendet werden.

Obwohl die LED im Haushalt nicht schädlich ist, darf sie nicht einfach in den Hausmüll geworfen werden.

Dies liegt an den elektronischen Bauteilen, die die LED Leuchte enthält und für die es rechtliche Bestimmungen zur Entsorgung gibt. Nach dem Elektrogesetz (ElektroG) werden sie nämlich als Elektroaltgeräte eingestuft und müssen entsprechend fachgerecht entsorgt werden. Beim Recycling der LED können außerdem wertvolle Teile wie Metall und Glas weiterverwertet werden.

Kleine Mengen können Sie einfach bei Kleinmengensammelstellen wie z.B. Wertstoffhöfen oder den meisten Elektrofachgeschäften entsorgen. Für Großmengen setzen Sie sich bitte mit Ihrem Entsorgungsfachbetrieb für eine Abholung bzw. Containerlösung in Verbindung.